Can’t forget the gore

Some days are definitely tougher to knock out a word count than others. Especially when you’re trying to get extra in during the weekend in preparation for a busy week ahead. This was certainly one of those days. I’m not quite sure what I think of a few subplots that I started out, so they got tossed out the window. I don’t think I’ll be missing them, though it might be a challenge to remove them later during editing. I’m not worrying about that now though, I’m just trying to knock the story out. That’s really what NaNo is all about right? Focusing solely on the story and knocking out the meat of it.

I didn’t get a chance to post about my updates yesterday, but I did get my word requirement in. Spent much of the evening with friends, and also took down Halloween decorations around the house. That’s always a sad thing to do, but it does feel good to put out the Thanksgiving decorations. Post-party cleanup is never fun either, but we had been putting it off for the week. The house isn’t perfectly clean, but it’s way better than it was. Once I’m done here, I’m off to start going through my closet in preparation for installing the new shelves. I think I’ve been putting that off too. 😛

Project: Smoke & Witchcraft

Summary: My trio of protagonists (a werewolf, a half-vampire, and a sharpshooter) head to New Orleans to investigate a series of unexplained abductions. So far this pulpy paranormal will have plenty of banter, a slew of fistfights, undercover operations that fail miserably, battles of magic, a necromancer seductress, a coven of witches with a bad rap, and a ton of zombie alligators. Also I plan to toss the damsel in distress idea on its head since both guys will likely need saving. Oh, and did I mention awkward romance?

New Words Written: 1,678 (Yesterday) , 2,098 (Today)

Progress: Lots of blood, but no bodies, and the investigation begins. It’s probably not a good idea to have a half-vampire snooping around a room that’s so bloody either, but don’t worry, he’s mostly well behaved.

Total Words for 2012: 121,239

Leave a Reply

